Bach on Silbermann organs

Volume 7:
Fraureuth, Crostau, Grosshartmannsdorf, Nassau
The Six Trio Sonatas, BWV 525-530
BACH 744

1: Trio Sonata No. 1 in E-flat Major - BWV 525
     [Moderato] / Adagio / Allegro
     FRAUREUTH - Johannes-Ernst Köhler
2: Trio Sonata No. 2 in c minor - BWV 526
     Vivace / Largo / Allegro
     FRAUREUTH - Hans Otto
3: Trio Sonata No. 3 in d minor - BWV 527
     Andante / Adagio e dolce / Vivace
4: Trio Sonata No. 4 in e minor - BWV 528
     Adagio - Vivace / Andante / Un poco allegro
     CROSTAU - Christoph Albrecht
5: Trio Sonata No. 5 in C Major - BWV 529
     Allegro / Largo / Allegro
6: Trio Sonata No. 6 in G Major - BWV 530
     Vivace / Lento / Allegro
     NASSAU - Erich Piasetzki

Total Time: 79:15

This programme offers the set of Six Trio Sonatas, and takes the listener on a tour which includes four different Silbermann organs, all built by Bach's friend and contemporary, the Master Organ-builder Gottfried Silbermann (1683-1753). We hear four different village organs, and if they all sound and even look very similar this is no coincidence. Working out of his Freiberg workshops, centrally situated to serve his home state of Saxony, Silbermann confined his projects to the borders of Saxony, thus minimizing transportation costs.

He formulated a standard village organ - for it was mostly the villages which he served - of 2 manuals and 20 to 23 stops, aiming for mass-production, or as near as was possible. This provided him with considerable savings on pipe and woodwork construction, savings which he passed on to his customers in the form of the very best materials available and immaculate workmanship - qualities which draw admiration from researchers and restorers even today. In addition he frequently added a free extra stop over and above the contracted specification. Silbermann was a dedicated craftsman - and a good businessman!

Baroque Music Library